How We Are Governed

How We Are Governed2020-07-23T18:06:39+01:00

How We Are Governed

The Institute is a Registered Charity and a Company Limited by Guarantee registered with Companies House.

Under our Memorandum and Articles of Association, we have two governing bodies:

  • The Board of Directors comprises the Trustees of the charity. They have responsibility for financial management, the appointment of the Principal and the overall running of the Institute. The Board meets six times a year.
  • The Council of Members appoints the Directors and is responsible for ensuring the purposes of the Institute, including its Catholicity, are sustained. The Council meets three times a year.

The Board and Council meet together for the Annual General Meeting.

Board of Directors

Mrs Roberta Canning (Chair)
Fr David Bagstaff
Mr Mark Broadbent
Mrs Joanne Coward
Dr Claire Daunton
Professor Eilis Ferran
Dr Jennifer Schooling
Ann Taylor
Revd Dr Janet Tollington

The Principal and the Bursar are in attendance.

Council of Members

Ms Mari Shullaw (Chair)
Dr Anna Abram
Mr Paul Barber
Revd Canon Chris Chivers
Dr Jenny Dines CSA
Mgr Mark Langham
Mrs Janet Lash
Revd Professor John Morrill
Mr Arthur Naylor
Sister Helen Costigane
Prof. Janet Soskice

The Bursar is the Company Secretary.

Recent Posts


Recent Tweets




Our Blog

Including news and event information

Join Our Mailing List

For News and Information About The Margaret Beaufort Institute of Theology